Skip to main content

Cricket South Africa

I have always loved the South African Team. Of course I am talking about the team that played in the 1990’s. If you are a regular reader of my blog, you would have realised by now that I am quite fond of the cricket of that era. They had some amazing players.
Allan Donald. Shaun Pollock. Mark Boucher. Jacques Kallis. Gary Kirsten.  Oh and I LOVED Jonty Rhodes. The catches he made while flying in the air. Amazing. Even Hansie Cronje I liked. That’s most of the players of that time if you ask me.

The current team is good. But none of them have made my favourite players list. YET. Never say never eh?

So, now, we are here talking about CSA. Cricket South Africa. CSA T20 challenge begins. CSA is the governing body for amateur and professional cricket in South Africa. Ram Slam T20 Challenge is the premier T20 Cricket Competition that takes place in South Africa. They changed the name a lot. It was first known as Standard Bank Pro20 series until 2010-2011. Then it was MiWay T20 Challenge for 2011-2012. Now it is RamSlam T20 Challenge.
What’s in a name right?
The tournament was born in 2003-04. The last one was played in 2016-17. There are six teams.

Cape Cobras
Cape Town and Paarl
Durban and Pietermaritzburg
Bloemfontein and Kimberley
Highveld Lions
Johannesburg and Potchefstroom
Centurion and Benoni
Port Elizabeth and East London

Starting with the 2008–09 season until the 2013–2014 season, the winning and runner-up teams would qualify for the Champions League Twenty20.

Squad not announced for Titans

Squad not announced for Dolphins

Cape Cobras
Squad not announced for Cape Cobras

Colin Ackermann, Andrew Birch, Gihahn Cloete, Ayabulela Gqamane, Simon Harmer, Colin Ingram, Christiaan Jonker, Sisanda Magala, Anrich Nortje, Jerry Nqolo, Solo Nqweni, JJ Smuts(c), Kelly Smuts, Basheeru-Deen Walters

Squad not announced for Lions

Theunis de Bruyn(c), Marchant de Lange, Andries Gous, Eddie Leie, Patrick Kruger, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Grant Mokoena, Tshepo Ntuli , Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Aubrey Swanepoel, Shadley van Schalkwyk


Popular posts from this blog

Editor's Pick (t20): India - South Africa

Whoever said ‘don’t make a habit out of it’ was not referring to winning. I do love writing ‘India won’ blogs and it is a pleasure to make a habit out of it as well. The Indian cricket team is most definitely making sure that the habit sticks. We are more than just on a roll in South Africa. We have found what clicks for us and we are making use of it. The best part is that almost all the players are performing. So we are actually open to experimenting and bringing in fresh faces. This way, not only do all the boys get the taste of playing, team South Africa is unable to get used to any one player long enough to figure out the style and a way to defeat it. Way to go Ravi Shastri and Virat Kohli. Talking about team selection. How is your selection going? Are you also listening to our audio podcast and getting that added advantage?
Let's get back to the matches. We lost the test matches. But we have won the ODI series in a landslide way. And are one up in the T20 series. We are repla…

Editor’s Pick(CPL): Trinbago Knight Riders vs Barbados Tridents

The previous match, Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors, saw the Knight Riders win by seven wickets. Played at Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad, Chasing a target of 158, TKR scored 162 in 19 overs. Colin Munro, their highest scorer, hit 70 runs. It was a fairly one-sided match with TKR staying on top for most parts.
The Knight Riders are right on top of the table, with three wins and one loss from four matches played. Their run rate of +1.680 will matter, for sure. DLS has been applied in this tournament and can be applied again. Barbados Tridents come second on the table with two wins from three matches. They earlier beat St Lucas Stars by 21 runs (DLS Method). This will be a close match, considering that both teams are in good form.
Barbados Tridents (From): Dwayne Smith, Kane Williamson, Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard(c), Nicholas Pooran(w), Christopher Barnwell, Akeal Hosein, Wayne Parnell, Imran Khan, Ravi Rampaul, Wahab Riaz, Raymon Reifer, Damion Jacobs…

TNPL - A Brief Rundown

Based on the stupendously successful Indian Premier League is the Tamil Nadu Premier League. This Indian T20 cricket league has been established by the Tamil Nadu State Cricket Association to bring out more and more Natarajans and Washingtons who otherwise do not get a chance to showcase their skill and talent in the world of Cricket. The inaugural edition of the TNPL took place in 2016 and received unexpected and unprecedented success and love. There was a brilliant batch of young men who came forward and made an event out of the first season of TNPL.


India Cements Ground, Thirunelveli
NPR College Ground, Dindigul 
MA Chitambaram Stadium, Chennai 

The purpose of every organization is to make it bigger and better. TNPL is no exception. At the inaugural TNPL 2016, there were the traditional two semifinals and one final. This year will see a format similar to IPL. The finalists are decided by two qualifiers along with one eliminator. This format has proven to be more exciting.…